Making Business Research Relevant during the NAU Undergraduate Symposium

Posted: Tuesday, April 29th 2014 at 5:29 AM

The 7th annual NAU Undergraduate Symposium was held April 23–25, 2014. The FCB symposium's theme was "Making Business Research Relevant" and the students rose to the challenge.

April 23rd:
Sweet Endings: A dessert tasting event was held at The J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Demonstration Kitchen in the School of Hotel and Restaurant Management, bringing dessert delights to 30 syposium participants as they witnessed the HRM students in action and sampled a selection of student-made desserts.

April 24th:
The 3rd Annual W. A. Franke Oral Presentation Competition: More than 20 students participated in this event, representing CIS, ECO, MGT, MKT, HRM and International Hospitality Management with $1,000 in prizes awarded. The competition winners were:

Third Place – the team from Finance:  Chase Wilsey, Harrison Johnson, Kyren Poe, and Dana Wheeler
Second Place – the team from Management:  Fernanda Avila, Kristen Boyd, and Lynae Bustamante
First Place – the team from Marketing:  Elise Kluge (aka Tiffany Elise Payne) and Kady Eglseder

There was a strong showing from the IHM, HRM, and CIS teams as well.

Bloomberg Businessweek Writing Competition: This event was completed with nearly $500 in prizes being awarded for outstanding research and writing related to the BusinessWeek article, "This Isn't Enough." The competition were:

Third Place:  Adriana Racine
Second Place:  Christopher Goodwillie
First Place:  Daniel LaCroix

April 25th:
Poster presentations: More than 40 posters were on display in the Skydome from the FCB ECO students.

Congratulations to all who participated.

Categories: students spring 2014 nau undergraduate symposium making business research relevant sweet endings w. a. franke oral presentation competition chase wilsey harrison johnson kyren poe dana wheeler fernanda avila kristen boyd lynae bustamante elise kluge tiffany elise payne kady eglseder bloomberg businessweek writing competition adriana racine christopher goodwillie daniel lacroix