The Outcome of the 1st Annual Dept. of Energy Collegiate Wind Competition

Posted: Wednesday, May 14th 2014 at 8:28 AM

Pre-event news coverage HERE. NAU Team Website HERE.

Monday, May 5, 2014 the team from Northern Arizona University composed of students from engineering, business, environmental science, and political science participated in the first annual Department of Energy Collegiate Wind Competition in Las Vegas. The team's concept was to use micro-wind turbine portable devices to power cellphones and laptops after hurricanes or tornadoes when winds are still strong. NAU submitted their proposal to the DOE in January of 2013 and was selected as one of the ten teams for the inaugural competition.

The FCB business students on the team were from Frank Spitznogle's fall MGT 435 and spring Independent Study classes and were responsible for the Business Plan side. Spitznogle is an Entrepreneur in Residence/assistant professor in The W. A. Franke College of Business.

The NAU team  placed in two non-testing categories:
3rd place – Engineering Design Review
2nd place – Market Issues Presentation

"They did great work and it was an exciting competition," said Karin Wadsack, Project Director, Institute for Sustainable Energy Solutions.

Spitznogle stated that “over a period of 8 months 50 Mechanical/Electrical engineering and FCB students were able to work very well together on a very challenging task.”  

Pre-event video coverage:

The Collegiate Wind Competition team

Balance of System and Testing Team:
Anna Manning, Ashley Jerome, Charles Burge, Christopher Bozorth, Kyle Yates, and Melissa Head

Blade Design and Construction Team:
Christopher Feyen, Devon Martindale, Gabriel O'Reilly, Kenneth Saxer, Nathan Croswell, and Norman Khoo

Controls & Charging Team:
Andrew Hoffman, Carlos Tarango, Ian Mason, Jared Parks, Jonathan Pepper, and Mariflor Caronan

Not attached to a Senior Capstone Group:
Daniel Pardo, Hannan Block, Kelsey Morales, Saad Almonneay, Stephen Kuluris, and Candice Giffin

Market Issues presentation team:
Kelsey Morales, Candice Giffin, and Devon Martindale

Business Plan Team:  In the Fall semester of 2013 30 members of Spitznogle’s MGT 435 team began the Business Plan effort, which was completed in the Spring semester by   Torey Schreiner and Lukas Loehr, who attended the competition in Las Vegas, and Samantha Stansberry who led the financial aspects of the Business Plan.

Other faculty advisors from Engineering were David Willy, Tom Acker, and Karin Wadsack, with additional technical assistance from Allison Kipple and John Tester.

The ten competing universities

Boise State University
California Maritime Academy
Colorado School of Mines
James Madison University (VA)
Kansas State University
Northern Arizona University
Pennsylvania State University
University of Alaska Fairbanks
University of Kansas
University of Massachusetts Lowell

Frank Spitznogle, looking forward

Spitznogle joined NAU in the Fall Semester of 2013 after several decades of starting new businesses within large companies and as independent startups, as well as teaching business MBA courses for a nationwide university.

He is focused on expanding entrepreneurial activities, especially with other areas of NAU, as he did with the Engineering in the Wind Turbine Competition project.

"As we move toward the Fall semester I am aggressively looking for additional entrepreneurial activities throughout the University where my students could take some or total responsibility for the Business Plan side of interesting opportunities," said Spitznogle.

Categories: doe collegiate wind competition department of energy spring 2014 students anna manning ashley jerome charles burge christopher bozorth kyle yates melissa head christopher feyen devon martindale gabriel o'reilly kenneth saxer nathan croswell norman khoo andrew hoffman carlos tarango ian mason jared parks jonathan pepper mariflor caronan daniel pardo hannan block kelsey morales saad almonneay stephen kuluris candice giffin torey schreiner lukas loehr